After being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Chicago, Illinois, your first priority should be to get your license back as soon as possible. You may think that taking a DUI class is an unnecessary hassle. But getting your license back faster and cheaper is worth the time and effort. The sooner you take your DUI class, the sooner you can get on with your life. A DUI conviction has serious implications that last for years to come.
If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher or fail a roadside sobriety test, you will be required to complete an alcohol education program as part of the penalties for your violation. These programs in Chicago, IL are also known as DWI courses, Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, or DUI classes. They’re offered through local community centers and jails as well as churches and other religious institutions.
How Much Do DUI Classes Cost?
The cost of your DUI class will vary depending on where in Illinois you live, the length of the program, and the type of class you choose. Most DUIs result in a fine of several hundred dollars and a fee of $100-$300 to enroll in an alcohol education class. This price includes the cost of a one-day class and the completion of a short online evaluation. More comprehensive classes will also have fees for materials such as workbooks and videos. You may also have to pay for car insurance if you are going to need a restricted license. Insurance companies often offer reduced rates for completion of an alcohol program. You can also check with the Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to see if they have a reduced fee for completing an alcohol program.
How to Complete a DUI Class?
Most DUI classes last for about 24 hours. You have around 30 days to complete a one-day alcohol program. If you are taking a shorter course, you will only have around four hours to complete it. There are a few ways you can complete your DUI class: Option 1: In-person classes: Most DUI classes take place in a classroom setting. You should arrive a few minutes early to sign in and find a seat. Option 2: Online classes: Some programs are designed to be taken online. You will typically have a set date by which you must complete your course. Option 3: Home-study programs: Home-study programs are usually similar to online courses but may be more in-depth. You can find out about these programs by asking your DUI attorney or by searching online.
What Happens After Completing a DUI Class?
Once you’ve finished your DUI class in Chicago, you will need to take your certificate to the court and tell the judge that you’ve completed the program. The judge can then decide if you can get your driver’s license back. Some states will allow you to get your license back immediately after completing a DUI class. Other states will only allow you to get your license back if you’ve completed a one-day class, a course that lasts two full days, or a program administered by the court. After you’ve completed the course, you can usually have the DUI conviction removed from your record after 1 year. If the course was ordered by the judge, you can apply for an expungement after 2 years. You should check with the court where you were ordered to take the class to see if you’re eligible for an expungement.
Should You Take a DUI Class?
DUI classes can be helpful for drivers of all ages. They can reduce your risk of getting another DUI by 32% and lower your insurance rates. You can take a shorter program to increase your chances of getting your license back as soon as possible. Or you can take a longer course if you need more time to make arrangements for child care. In some cases, you may only be eligible for a shorter course if the judge imposes a longer one as part of your sentence. You can also take a longer course if you want more information or an in-depth look at the dangers of driving under the influence.
Final Words: Don’t Drink and Drive!
Driving under the influence is a serious crime and can lead to serious consequences. If you are pulled over and suspected of driving under the influence, your license will be confiscated until you are proven innocent. You will also face a hefty fine, community service, and possible jail time depending on the severity of the violation. In some states, you may also have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your car. An IID is a breathalyzer that prevents you from starting your car if your BAC is over 0.02%.