September 26, 2023

If the answer is “not very” then please read on, and consider taking food safety, HACCP – Hazards Analysis Critical Control Points, health and safety training and refresher courses so that whatever your work day delivers, it shouldn’t be legal action, a fine or loss of business through negligence and a food poisoning incident.

Many of the food laws are common sense but as food businesses continue to achieve less than 5/5 during Food Standards Agency/local authority audits there is a great deal of work and education to be carried out before the UK can fulfil the Food Standards Agency goal of trustworthy food.

Food laws that you should be familiar with and adhere to:

  • The Food Safety Act 1990 is the framework for food legislation in the UK.
  • The Food Law Regulation (EC) No 178/2002. This details the requirements of food laws across Europe.
  • The Food Hygiene Regulations 2006. Regulation (EC) No 178/2002 and Food Safety Act 1990 enforcement and penalties. Food safety systems and HACCP plans are vital to success in this area.
  • The European Communities Act 1972. The means via which European food laws took effect in the UK.
  • Regulation (EC) No 852/2004. The food hygiene levels as required by the European Union.
  • The Food Standards Agency Food Law Code of Practice. Current version published April 2015.

Below are two inestimably valuable courses which are offered by specialist training firms including Food Alert in London. Level 3 is equivalent to AS/A level.

Level 3 CIEH Health and Safety training:

  • Health & safety legislation.
  • The roles of managers, supervisors and PPE.
  • The ability to report and investigate accidents.
  • Understand ill health in the workplace.
  • Legal provisions.
  • Welfare, conflict, motivation, hiring, first aid and emergency procedures.
  • In-depth knowledge of risks, of hazardous substances, fire safety, explosions, electricity risks, working at height and equipment.
  • Manual handling.
  • Supervise health & safety.
  • Implement, maintain and monitor good health and safety standards.

Your team must take general food safety courses at levels 1,2, 3 or 4 but for food safety management systems information and the adoption of HACCP Hazards Analysis Critical Control Points principles it is best to take specific HACCP training which allows you to establish an HACCP plan, best practices, risk control, monitoring and corrective measures on your premises and know precisely why you are doing so and the ramifications of not fulfilling obligations.

Level 3 HACCP food safety course:

  • The legal requirements for businesses to adopt a food safety management system.
  • Understanding the controls needed to ensure food safety.
  • How controls should be monitored.
  • The seven principles of HACCP and how these can be equated to food safety management systems.
  • How food safety management systems can assist in implementing HACCP requirements in a food business.

Food laws may seem daunting but you must understand them to prosper so please invest in comprehensive training to regain peace of mind.